Thursday, January 21, 2010

New Zealand: The Spoken Language

English, Maori and Sign Language are the three official languages of New Zealand.
Fun Fact: In April 2006, New Zealand became the first country to declare sign language an official language.

The Maori language is now used by over 4% of the population. Maori words are becoming part of the general language used by all Kiwis (another name for New Zealanders), for example:
• kapai ("kar pie") = good
• whanau ("far know") = a family group
• manakai ("ky")= food.
More Moari words and concepts

The Haka is a generic term for Maori dance. It is a posture dance performed by a group, with spirited movements, stamping of the feet rhythmically while shouting. It can portray everything from a challenge to a welcome, from euphoria to defiance. If you get the chance, go see an All Blacks Rugby game and experience a Haka experience first hand!

The New Zealand Rugby team , The All Blacks perform the Maori war "dance", before each game.Go ahead and prepare yourself for the intense energy of the Haka by learning the words and dance!

No comments:

Post a Comment